Exterior of Semmes Murphey Clinic on Humphreys


Jun 3, 2024

Memphis Magazine names 15 Semmes Murphey physicians as 2024 Top Doctors

Fifteen Semmes Murphey physicians were named to Memphis Magazine’s Top Doctors list for 2024!

Semmes Murphey Clinic is pleased to announce 15 of our doctors were named to Memphis Magazine’s Top Doctors list for 2024. This recognition is based on the outstanding service they provide patients in the Mid-South. As a peer-reviewed nomination selected by Castle Connolly’s list of the best doctors in America, this is a respected honor among our local health care community, and we’re grateful for these practitioners to be recognized for their dedication to their expertise and patients.

Here are the honorees for this year’s Top Doctors issue:

Dr. Kenan Arnautovic is a neurosurgeon who specializes in skull-base neurosurgery, brain tumor and spinal cord tumor surgery, microsurgery in general and complex spinal instrumentation and surgery. He also serves as a professor at the Department of Neurosurgery at the University of Tennessee.

Dr. Adam S. Arthur specializes in neurovascular diseases such as aneurysms. He has previously served as president of the Society for Neurointerventional Surgery and currently serves as treasurer of the AANS/CNS Cerebrovascular Section, the chair of the NREF Education Committee and the chair of the AANS Scientific Program Committee.

Dr. Raul J. Cardenas is a neurosurgeon who specializes in neck and back problems. He is a third-generation neurosurgeon and his father also worked at Semmes Murphey.

Dr. Kevin T. Foley is the chairman of Semmes Murphey Clinic and director of complex spine surgery. He not only practices surgery full-time, but also is involved with multiple research topics and is the inventor of many medical devices. Dr. Foley was honored in 2019 with the AANS Cushing Award for Technical Excellence and Innovation in Neurosurgery for all of his accomplishments.

Dr. Todd E. Fountain specializes in neurosurgery for spinal and cranial disorders. He was named the Mayo Clinic Neurological Surgery Resident Teacher of the Year in 2008 and 2009. He currently serves as chairman of Neurosurgical Spine at Baptist Memorial Hospital in Memphis.

Dr. Daniel A. Hoit is a neurovascular surgeon at Semmes Murphey. He serves as the Surgery Center Director at Semmes Murphey.

Dr. Paul Klimo Jr. is a pediatric neurosurgeon who focuses on brain tumors, vascular disorders, endoscopy and concussions. He recently helped draft and lobby for the passing of the Tennessee Medical Association-sponsored sports-concussion bill. He currently serves as the Chief of Pediatric Neurosurgery at Le Bonheur Children’s Hospital.

Dr. Michael LaBagnara specializes in treating a variety of scoliosis cases in both children and adults. He also treats other specialty conditions, such as cervical radiculopathy, lumbar radiculopathy, revision spinal surgery, and performs general and trauma neurosurgery.

Dr. Jeffery M. Sorenson specializes in conditions of the brain and spine. He is the Medical Director of the Gamma Knife Center.

Dr. Lucas Elijovich is an endovascular neurosurgeon who specializes in stroke and neurocritical care. He serves as the Director of Neurocritical and Neurointerventional Surgery for Lebonheur Children’s Hospital and co-director of the Lebonheur Vascular Anomalies Center.

Dr. Vishad Kumar is a neurologist at Semmes Murphey. He has done research for the Department of Neurology and Psychiatry at Vanderbilt University and also serves as a clinical assistant professor at University of Tennessee Health Science Center.

Dr. Madison Michael has a significant interest in skull base neurosurgery and open vascular neurosurgery. He is heavily involved in resident education and is currently a professor of neurosurgery and otolaryngology and the program director for the neurosurgical residency program at the University of Tennessee.

Dr. Tulio Bertorini is a specialist in neuromuscular disorders such as amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, muscular dystrophy, multiple sclerosis, Parkinson’s disease and myasthenia gravis. He is the director of the Clinical Neurophysiology Fellowship at UTHSC and the director of the Memphis Muscular Dystrophy Association Clinic and the Mid-South MDA/ALS Clinic. He is also the Chief of Neurology at Methodist University Hospital.

Dr. Nitin Goyal is a board-certified endovascular neurologist and has published more than 100 peer-reviewed papers in national and international journals. He also serves as Assistant Professor of Neurology and Neurosurgery at the University of Tennessee HSC.

Dr. Violiza Iona Acosta is a neurologist specializing in vascular neurology and neurointervention. She is the Chair of the Women in Neurointervention Committee for the Society of Neurointerventional Surgery and also an associate editor for the Journal of Neurointerventional Surgery.

Grab the latest issue of Memphis Magazine on newsstands now or read more about the 2024 Top Doctors in Memphis here.