Robertson Jon headshot


Sep 23, 2021

Robertson Wins AANS Distinguished Service Award

We would like to congratulate Dr. Jon H. Robertson, who recently received the Distinguished Service Award from the American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS).

The AANS, formerly known as the Harvey Cushing Society, was founded in 1931. It is a scientific and educational association of over 12,000 members that exists to promote the highest quality of patient care and advance the specialty of neurological surgery.

Each year, the AANS honors a selection of members for their lifetime of surgical, scientific, and humanitarian accomplishments. The Distinguished Service Award is one of the highest honors given by the AANS to those who have made outstanding contributions in the field. In 2013, Dr. Robertson also received the Cushing Medal from the AANS. With this and a host of other awards and honors, Dr. Robertson stands as one of the most decorated neurosurgeons in the region.

As Chairman Emeritus of the University of Tennessee Department of Neurosurgery and member of the Semmes-Murphey Clinic, these honors come after decades of Dr. Robertson's dedication to his patients and the advancement of neuroscience. Thanks to dedicated physicians like Dr. Robertson, the future of neurosurgery looks very bright.

Please join us in congratulating Dr. Robertson on the AANS Distinguished Service Award and for setting today's standard of excellence.